Think that BOA.com is Owned by Bank of America? Think Again…

It would only seem natural that Bank of America, the largest bank in the US according to assets, would own the domain name BankofAmerica.com – and of course they do BUT it would seem like a no-brainer that a company as big and as well known as BOA would also own the domain name BOA.com. Buuut do they? By now I am sure that you can guess that the answer is no.

If you visit BOA.com right now then this is all that you see on the page in extra large form… well, actually – go ahead and visit http://www.BOA.com yourself and take a look for yourself (it’s kid friendly and workplace friendly so don’t worry – just strange).

OK, so now is the chance for all of you domainers who love to flip names to get busy buying this name and then selling it to Bank of America…

P.S. Have fun typing out the email address: http://www.whois-search.com/whois/boa.com :)

Enter your desired keyword(s) to start finding great domain names!

Similar Posts:


Enter Google AdSense Code Here

Comments

4 Responses to “Think that BOA.com is Owned by Bank of America? Think Again…”
  1. Ritz says:

    point 1:
    why do a lot of people assume that .com is ‘reserved’ for the USA?

    Bank Of America is certainly not the first thing that comes to (my) mind when I see BOA. Instead, i think of the reptile.
    Note that I live on the opposite side of the world.
    Think Global, not Local!

    point 2:
    I give credit to Bank of America for owning Loans.com though. Smart move. A loan is a loan for any english speaker!

    Happy thinking,
    Ritz.

  2. Edwin Sherman says:

    The name receives 1,000,000+ uv’s per year (compete.com).. mainly lost financial traffic, and there is a possible security issue with email mistypes: example@boa.com rather than example@bofa.com. BofA is among the few big companies that clearly understand the value of good domain names (Loans.com, etc). Hopefully they’ll see the value in this one.. if they haven’t already.

  3. mxr says:

    I just got a message from boa.com saying my card has been deactivated.

    It just happened to coincide with my first default payment in over 5 years.

    Freak luck or is someone watching?

  4. ykk01 says:

    Be careful. Could be phishing site. Just got a phishing email (and I don’t bank with Bank of America either) from “securityalert@boa.com”

    Dear Customer:

    Your Secure login details seem to have been compromised.

    Please log in to the secure link below, and verify your security

    details to avoid an unnecessary suspension of your account.

    We may call you to verify any information, and such calls may include
    computer-generated speech

    To log in and verify your account click go here :

    Online Banking Secure Login Page

    Note:

    This e-mail was sent on behalf of the online banking community, If you do not have an online banking with Bank Of America then this message does not apply to you and you may ignore this message.

    Thank you.
    Customer Service
    Bank of America, Member FDIC.
    © 2010 Bank of America Corporation. All Rights Reserved.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!